Back to Top

Election to the Honorary Police

On this page:

Each Parish elects Centeniers, Vingteniers and Constable's Officers who take an oath in the Royal Court and serve a 3 year term of office.

Centeniers are elected under the Public Elections (Jersey) Law 2002 and the Centeniers (Terms of Office) (Jersey) Law 2007. Each candidate must be proposed and seconded by 10 electors of the Parish.

Elections for Centeniers are held every 9 months. The next public elections will be in September 2018 and June 2019.

Vingteniers and Constable's Officers are elected by the whole Parish Assembly.

Elections are held as vacancies need to be filled and candidates must be proposed and seconded by a member of the Parish Assembly.

Age limits

To be nominated for election as a member of the Honorary Police you must, on the day of nomination, be at least 20 years of age and less than 70 years of age.

However, serving members of the Honorary Police who have attained the age of 70 may stand for re-election to the same office for one further and final term. Whilst still in office they may also stand for election to a different office within the Honorary Police. A person over the age of 70 elected to a different office cannot on the expiry of that term office be re-elected to serve a further term or whilst still in office be elected to a different office.

Residence in the parish

You must also be resident in the Parish at the time of your first election or, in the case of St Helier, be a ratepayer or mandataire (representative of a body corporate which is liable for rates) of that Parish.

If an officer moves out of the Parish during her/his term of office, s/he may continue her/his term of office with the approval of H M Attorney General and the Connétable of the Parish and may stand for re-election provided there is no break in service.

Capable of discharging the duties of office

It is important that every person elected is not only capable of discharging his/her duties, but also seen to be capable, and therefore if you hold a bookmaker's or betting office licence you are disqualified from appointment in view of the possible conflict of interest in policing of licensing offences.

A criminal record check is undertaken on all persons standing for election as a member of the Honorary Police.

Oath of office

All officers swear the oath of office in the Royal Court (translated Code of 1771).

Number of officers in each Parish

The number of honorary police officers in each Parish is prescribed in statute and is as follows:

  Centeniers Vingteniers Constable's Officers
St Brelade4424
St Clement4416
Grouville4412
St Helier101130
St John4312
St Lawrence4615
St Martin4512
St Mary4212
St Ouen4612
St Peter4517
St Saviour6620
Trinity4512


 

Find out more: contact the Connétable or Chef de Police of your Parish for further information.

​St.Brelade

T: 01534 741141
E: stbrelade@posb.gov.je

​St.Clement

T: 01534 854724
E: stclement@posc.gov.je

​Grouville

T: 01534 852225
E: grouville@pog.gov.je

​St.Helier

T: 01534 811811
E: townhall@posh.gov.je

​St.John

T: 01534 861999
E: stjohn@posj.gov.je

​St.Lawrence

T: 01534 861672
E: stlawrence@posl.gov.je

​St.Martin

T: 01534 853951
E: stmartin@posmn.gov.je

​St.Mary

01534 482700
stmary@posmy.gov.je

​St.Ouen

T: 01534 481619
E: stouen@poso.gov.je

​St.Peter

T: 01534 481236
E: stpeter@posp.gov.je

​St.Saviour

T: 01534 735864
E: stsaviour@poss.gov.je

​Trinity

T: 01534 865345
E: trinity@pot.gov.je